December 15 – Bolognese senza pasta

dec15

My basic bolognese sauce, liquified, thinned with a bit of v-8 juice and some red wine, eaten without pasta. Excellent!!

Wine is very unpleasant to use for swishing caught food particles out from between your teeth. Partly it was the alcohol getting in the cuts in my mouth from the wires and screws, and partly it was just the mildly astringent feeling on my teeth. I substituted coca-cola for the wine and all was good.

I have begun to develop a system for producing tolerably liquified “real” foods – you thin them with something that approximately matches. I’m not sure how much of the ‘match’ is color, texture, or flavor, but – for example: baked beans are pretty good to thin with beef stock; I wouldn’t consider using milk or ice cream. Ice cream is good to thin with milk (it’s called a “milkshake”). Indian food is good to thin with V-8 juice, as is spaghetti sauce, etc. Come to think of it, I guess the method is color and acidity, in that order.

Leave a comment